Turi Scilipoti logo

Turi Scilipoti, flute


Sonatine by Henri Dutilleux

Sonatina by Eldin Burton

Partita in a minor - Allemande by J.S. Bach

Three Preludes - Allegro molto by Robert Muczynski

Sonata "Undine" - Allegro by Carl Reinecke

Andante in C by W.A. Mozart

Andante by Paul Taffanel

Piano: Irina Lupines


Photo of Turi with flute

Turi Scilipoti is a recent graduate of the Eastman School of Music where he studied with flutist Bonita Boyd. At Eastman, Turi performed regularly with the Eastman Philharmonia, Eastman Wind Ensemble, Musica Nova, OSSIA, and Azzimato Wind Quintet. In 2015 he played for the Eastman Wind Ensemble's recording of Jeff Tyzik's Concerto for Timpani and Wind Ensemble with Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra timpanist Charles Ross, and he was runner-up in Eastman's flute concerto competition the same semester. For two years Turi served on Eastman's Academic Integrity Committee.

A native of upstate NY, Turi began studying the flute at the age of 8. In 2008, he joined the Empire State Youth Orchestra (ESYO). Two years later, he was a featured soloist with ESYO after winning the orchestra's concerto competition. In 2012, he participated in ESYO's Asia Tour, performing in Beijing, Shanghai, Seoul, and the World EXPO in Yeosu, South Korea.

In the summers, Turi has attended numerous festivals and institutes, including the National Orchestral Institute, Round Top Festival, Pierre Monteux School (where he was an Ensemble Tremblay Scholar), Marina Piccinini International Master Classes, and ARIA Summer Academy. He also competed at the 2015 National Flute Association Convention in Washington DC, where he won 2nd place in the Orchestral Audition Competition and was also selected as a winner of the Masterclass Performers Competition.

Among Turi's other successful competitions/awards are the Rochester Flute Association Emerging Artist Competition, the Anthony R. Stefan Scholarship Competition, and the Helen Henshaw Scholarship.

Turi has performed in classes with prominent flutists Denis Bouriakov, David Cramer, Bart Feller, Marianne Gedigian, Aaron Goldman, Jeffrey Khaner, Renée Krimsier, Walfrid Kujala, Robert Langevin, Laural Ann Maurer, Judith Mendenhall, Takeaki Miyamae, Marina Piccinini, Debra Reuter-Pivetta, Paula Robison, Gary Schocker, Mark Sparks, Linda Toote, Ransom Wilson, and Carol Wincenc.